Mr. Latifur Rahman

Chairman & CEO

Transcom Group

Mr. Latifur Rahman is the Chairman and CEO of Transcom Group, with annual turnover of around US$600 million, employing over 14000 people. The business originated with tea plantations in 1885.

Group companies dealing with beverages (Pepsi), snacks/breakfast cereals (Kurkure/Quaker) pharmaceuticals (SK+F, Novo Nordisk), electronics/lighting (TRANSTEC, SAMSUNG, Whirlpool, Hitachi), distribution (Heinz, Garnier, L’Oréal, Mars, Energizer, ConAgra), Restaurants (Pizza Hut/KFC) and Tea Plantations.

Mr. Rahman founded The Daily Star (1991), country’s premier English daily, Prothom Alo (1998), the largest mass-circulated and most respected Bangla newspaper and ABC Radio (2009), which is the leading FM service in Bangladesh. The newspapers have always pursued a nationalistic and independent position devoid of political leanings, whilst maintaining an uncompromising stance against any fundamentalist/communal politics.

Transcom is an important stakeholder in General Insurance (Reliance Insurance Limited), housing finance (National Housing Finance and Investments Limited), non-banking financial institution (IDLC Finance Limited) and banking (Pubali Bank Limited).

Mr. Rahman is the Vice-President of the International Chamber of Commerce-Bangladesh. He has been re-elected as member of the Executive Board of the International Chamber of Commerce, Paris, for a second three-year term from July 2017.

Mr. Latifur Rahman is the Chairman of National Housing Finance & Investments Limited and a member of the Governing Body of BRAC – the largest NGO in the world.

He was previously Chairman of Nestlé Bangladesh Limited (25 years), Holcim Cement Bangladesh Limited (15 years) and Director of Linde Bangladesh Limited (10 years).

Mr. Rahman is a former President of Metropolitan Chamber of Commerce & Industry, the position he held for seven terms and also a former President of Bangladesh Employers’ Federation (two terms).

Mr. Rahman was Chairman, Bangladesh Government’s Tradebody Reforms Committee and member Bangladesh Better Business Forum, Advisory Committee on WTO. He was Member of the Executive Board of Bangladesh Bank (Central Bank).

Mr. Latifur Rahman was awarded Business Executive of the Year 2001 by the American Chamber of Commerce in Bangladesh

Mr. Latifur Rahman is an Honouree of ‘Oslo Business for Peace Award 2012’. Some of the other Honouree are Sir Richard Branson of Virgin Atlantic, Ratan Tata of Tata Group & Jefferey Immelt of GE, USA.

At the DHL-The Daily Star Bangladesh Business Award 2012, Mr. Latifur Rahman was honoured –

for bringing extraordinary recognition and honour to Bangladesh and its business community by receiving the globally renowned and prestigious ‘Business for Peace Award 2012’ in Oslo, Norway and for setting the highest ethical standards of business practice and personal integrity in the country which acts as an inspiration for others

Mr. Rahman, has been honoured with “SAARC Outstanding Leader” award for setting a rare example of doing business by upholding moral and ethical values while also fulfilling Transcom’s social responsibilities. Mr. Latifur Rahman is the first non-Indian to have received this award at a ceremony held at The Taj Land Ends Hotel in Mumbai on 28th July 2017, where over 50 top Indian CEOs and industrialists were present.

Other awardees in different categories are: N. Chandrasekaran, Chairman of Tata Group, Harsh Mariwala, Chairman & Managing Director – Marico, Sajjan Jindal, Chairman of Jindal Steel, Narayanan Vaghul, founding Chairman of ICICI Bank, Piyush Pandey, Chairman – Ogilvy & Mather, Pawan Goenka, Managing Director of Mahindra and Mahindra, Hari Menon, founder and CEO of Bigbasket, Jayshree Vyas, Managing Director – SEWA Bank and Prof. Ashok Jhunjhunwala, Adviser of India’s power ministry.

Mr. Latifur Rahman has been honoured with Lifetime Achievement Award by the UK Bangladesh Catalysts of Commerce & Industry (UKBCCI), for his outstanding contribution towards development of business and investments and creating employment opportunities in Bangladesh with ethical business practices. The Award was handed over by Mr. George Freeman, M.P., Chair of the British Prime Minister’s Policy Board on 15th October 2017 in London.